The Association's Board represents the standpoint of the foreign banks with regard to political, economic, legal and regulatory matters, and takes public position on topical issues. Day-to-day business matters are handled by the Association Secretariat. The Association is represented in the various organs, commissions and working groups of national bodies by officers of the member institutes, whose work is supported by the Association Secretariat.

Comitato ABES

Segretariato ABES


Comitato ABES


Dr. Heinrich Henckel
Chief Executive Officer
LGT Bank (Switzerland) Ltd.

Adrian Nösberger
Chief Executive Officer
Schroder & Co Bank Ltd

Mauro De Stefani
Chief Executive Officer
Banca Popolare di Sondrio (Suisse) SA

Yves Thieffry
Chairman of the Board
Société Générale Private Banking (Suisse) SA

Peter Hinder
Chief Executive Officer, Head of WM EMEA
Deutsche Bank (Switzerland) Ltd

Markus Affolter
Group Company Secretary, Managing Director
Bank J. Safra Sarasin Ltd

Monique Vialatou
Chief Executive Officer, Country Manager Switzerland
BNP Paribas (Suisse) SA

Alfonso Gomez
Chief Executive Officer
BBVA (Suiza) SA

Peter Gabriele
Chief Executive Officer
J.P. Morgan (Suisse) SA

Segretariato ABES

Associazione delle banche estere in Svizzera, Segretariato:

Dr. Martin Maurer

Segretario Generale
Dr. Martin Maurer

Raoul Oliver Würgler

Vice Segretario Generale
Raoul Oliver Würgler

Elisabel Lopez



The Association of Foreign Banks in Switzerland is represented by its member banks in various bodies of the Swiss Bankers' Association, the Swiss Funds Association and the authorities. Please find below a list of our representatives in the main bodies.

Association of Foreign Banks in Switzerland


TBC, Presidente

Heinrich Henckel, Vicepresidente; Chief Executive Officer, LGT Bank (Schweiz) AG

Adrian Nösberger, Vicepresidente; Chief Executive Officer, Schroder & Co Bank Ltd

Mauro de Stefani, Tesoriere; Chief Executive Officer, Banca Popolare di Sondrio (Suisse) SA

Yves Thieffry, Membro; Chairman of the Board of Directors, Société Générale Private Banking (Suisse) SA

Peter Hinder, Membro; Chief Executive Officer, Head of WM EMEA, Deutsche Bank (Switzerland) Ltd.

Markus Affolter, Membro; Group Company Secretary, Managing Director, Bank J. Safra Sarasin Ltd

Honorary Chairman

Dr. Alfredo Gysi


Gabriele Domenighetti, Internal Auditor, BANCA DEL SEMPIONE SA

Silvio Fischer, Risk Manager, Banque Internationale à Luxembourg (Suisse) SA

Guy Teulings, Head -Group Consolidation & Reporting, Habib Bank AG Zurich

Swiss Bankers’ Association

Commitee of the Governing Board


Governing Board

Heinrich Henckel, LGT Bank (Schweiz) AG

Adrian Nösberger, Schroder & Co Bank AG

Steering Group Asset Management

Andreas Markwalder, Schroder Investment Management (Switzerland) AG

Steering Group Capital Markets

Nick Bossart, J.P. Morgan Securities plc, London

Steering Group Private Banking

Heinrich Henckel, LGT Bank (Schweiz) AG

Steering Group Retail Banking

Mauro de Stefani, Banca Popolare di Sondrio (Suisse) SA

Training Commission

Raoul Würgler, Verband der Auslandsbanken in der Schweiz

Commission on Legal & Compliance

René Schwab, Goldman Sachs Bank AG

Commission on Financial Market Regulation and Accounting

Bernard F. Fishman, Bank Hapoalim (Schweiz) AG

Commission on Tax Matters

Bernhard Schopper, HSBC Private Bank (Suisse) SA

Expert committee on Information Security & Cyber Defence

Reto Somalvico, Bank J. Safra Sarasin AG

SIX Group

Board of Directors

Soren Mose (Membro del comitato di una banca estera)

SIX Regulatory Board

Patrick Voegeli, BNP Paribas (Suisse) SA

Cash Market Advisory Board of the SIX Swiss Exchange

Stefan Zimmermann, BNP Paribas (Suisse) SA

Other Associations and Institutions

Deposit Protection (Board)

Maria-Antonella Bino, BNP Paribas (Suisse) SA

Employers' Association of the Banks in Switzerland (Board)

Gottlieb Prack, LGT Bank (Schweiz) AG

Pietro Soldini, BSI SA

Swiss Finance Institute SFI (Board)

Adrian Nösberger, Schroder & Co Bank AG

Swiss Funds and Asset Management Association (SFAMA) (Board)

Markus Steiner, State Street Bank GmbH, München, Zweigniederlassung Zurich

Fondation Genève Place Financière


To Top of Page